| blog profile links |
Welcome
Layout: Missing you. Welcome to "Float Like a Butterfly, Sting Like a Bee", my own personal blog. |
"I think about you in the summertime."
Written on: Monday, July 19, 2010 | Time: 10:56 PM
Summer.A time to work on your tan, or simply just work to make some cash. But with this shit economy, that hasn't been easy. I'm one of the lucky few who managed to find a summer job (with a kick ass wage I might add), but many of my fellow classmates find themselves jobless and broke. There is one perk of working in the summer, and that's spending time with other university students that you might not have met otherwise. There's a few bitches at my work place but for the most part the girls I've met have been nothing but sweet. Plus, there's always a cute guy lurking around somewhere. Still, there is a labour involved but most of the time the payout is worth all the shit you have to endure. So to my fellow seasonal employees, suck it up and plaster a smile on your face (even if you have to fake it), in a month and a half we'll be back to school. And that, is definitely something to smile about. Always, Allie "Time to dance"
Written on: Wednesday, December 9, 2009 | Time: 10:32 PM
Exams are approaching.Which means buildings are getting quieter and students are slowly dying of studyitis. It can suck trying to cram for exams, or even kicking yourself in the ass to start well ahead of time. So here's my advice: dance. Seriously, dance is a wonderful stress relief, it's like exercise only more fun and the outfits you wear while doing it are cuter. My school had an end of semester party, it was a bust. But I got to dance most of my stress away. So all in all I figure if I get overwhelmed again, I'll dance it away. If you can't dance or cannot move from where you're studying to dance (library dances can be a tad awkward). I suggest chocolate or any kind of comfort food. In the immortal words of Miss Lady GaGa, "Just dance, gonna be okay." Always, Allie "I need you more than you'll ever know."
Written on: Tuesday, November 24, 2009 | Time: 8:23 PM
Girls.We're pretty complex and completely able to baffle any male within a twenty foot radius. It's a gift but also a curse. Because since we confuse the hell out of them, they don't understand shit. So we play hard to get, they think we're not interested. We come on strong they see us as a one night stand. We stay quiet they don't see us at all. We express our feelings in heartfelt letters they feel threatened. So then how do any of us get boyfriends? My time in university already and I've seen maybe one relationship occur. And no I'm not talking about TeaBiscuit (in my eyes that wasn't a real relationship for so many reasons). So why is it so hard for us? I say it's our expectations, we expect boys to read the signs and figure out all our coy little clues. We expect them to be mature fully functioning adults when they still act like prehistoric cavemen. It's the disparity between the sexes that makes it difficult to ever find a guy who's not...well stupid. So we need to just give it a few years and wait for their brains to fully develop. In the mean time I suppose we'll have to settle for the boys in our dreams and the stars that we'd never in a million years ever met. It may suck but hey, it's better than nothing. Always, Allie "High school never ends..."
Written on: Monday, November 9, 2009 | Time: 7:27 PM
High school.Four years of our lives that go by in the blink of an eye, or if you had any experience like I did—drag on for eons. Which ever side of the fence you sat on in high school, we can all agree that it's the years after high school that are the best. Right? Well I'm still trying to figure out that last one, but for the meantime I've been enjoying having my high school follow me to post-secondary education. It comes in the form of a girl I knew from high school, we'll call her Miss Class of 2009. Well Miss Class of 2009 came to the same school, in the same program. In fact we live in the same building. So naturally we gravitated towards each other. And it was great, I won't deny it. I felt so much better knowing someone from back home. But I've soon come to realize that having someone from back home isn't always the best thing in the world. Especially when they turn out to have a disagreement with you and you find Miss Class of 2009 waltzing into your apartment at 1 in the morning to start yelling at you. But I digress, the point of this blog post isn't to blame Miss Class of 2009, but rather to say that maybe it's best to keep high school and post-high school separate, the way it should be. Maybe the worst thing can be having someone there, it can cheat you out of the fresh start you hoped for. But it has its perks, you instantly have something in common with someone. But personally the last thing in the world I wanted leaving high school was to have a ghost of it follow me out of my town. And in a way it did, so who knows what will come of the friendship Miss Class of 2009 and I have. But at this moment in time, this day, I don't want high school to follow me anymore. I spent four years in that school waiting until I was free of it. And I don't want to let anything stand in my way of that. Sure if it was a best friend I may feel differently. But with someone I "sort of knew", I don't feel awful for wanting a clean slate. High school never ends, right? Well, personally I'm counting on the fact that all things come to an end eventually, and high school is no exception. Always, Allie "You're such a hot mess."
Written on: Friday, November 6, 2009 | Time: 9:47 PM
Drinking.Ah yes, what would the university/college experience be without alcohol. Under age or of age, it doesn't really matter, people will continue to party regardless. It's really not that hard to find someone who will buy it for you. I won't be preachy, or anything like that. But I'll be clear when I say that I don't drink so I can't pass too many judgments on those who do—nor do I intend to. But still, there's a large range of "drunk". First is just tipsy, the people who tend to be a little more talkative than usual but not bad. There's the medium, who've had enough drinks that their speech slurs a little and tend to be a bit more risky, for example running throughout the building. The last is plastered, the hot messes if you will, who are so shit faced they can't sit up or even speech coherently. This of course is just the information I've gathered, there's many other degrees of drunkenness that I haven't even touched on. However the hot messes tend to provide the most outlandish, the most bizarre of stories. So from the hot mess vault I give you the story of the Princess and the Pee. Now a few days ago a girl was in the building who was a hot mess, so her other drunk friends didn't know what to do with her. So they decided to dump her on a guy's bed as they went out. First mistake. The poor guy, who happens to be my neighbour, came home to a bed full of piss and a desk chair he can't exactly use anymore. It would be bad enough if the story ended there but it doesn't. Princess Pee struck again downstairs on another bed, spilling beer all over the poor guy's computer. There's nothing worse than someone else peeing in your bed except for taking a dump in it. The lesson is, don't become a fucking hot mess. Most of these kids know their limits and drink past them. Not the wisest of ideas. The amount these kids drink here would qualify them for entry into an AA program in the real world.. I have no issue with people drinking, it's just when they're stupid about it. Dumb shit happens when you drink so much that you can't remember the night. If Princess Pee is any indication, it's best to know your limit and drink within it. Unless you want to wake up to find out you peed in someone's bed. It's not a hard call, maybe after a few more of those types of incidents they're figure it out. Always, Allie "That face of an angel comes out when you need it to..."
Written on: Thursday, November 5, 2009 | Time: 10:52 PM
Guys suck.Okay now, this feels like the ramblings of a post-high school girl. But really, they do suck. I spent my entire four years in high school putting up with dumbasses and nitwits hoping that they would eventually grow up. That is until I got to university and learned the truth. They don't. One boy in fact told me guys "stop maturing at age fourteen." If that's the case then all of us girls are screwed. Fourteen year old boys find toilet humour an appropriate form of dinner conversation. But they are more hurtful than ever. The ego-centric British boy who lives in my building, who I will admit to having taken a liking to for a while, is a prime example. TeaBiscuit, as I shall call him is your typical womanizer. He uses his accent to his advantage, though his many years in my country have weakened it severely. But TeaBiscuit continues to divide and conquer his way through the female population of my school. Apparently he and his current girlfriend decided to be "non-exclusive" (aka the kiss of death), and allow each other to see other people, just not fool around with them. So what does TeaBiscuit go and do? He finds himself two other girlfriends. Pretty shady even for a Brit. I feel the word "douche bag" is too light for him, perhaps "douchey pratt ass face" would suffice. Seriously though, three girlfriends? Is he really that desperate for someone to do more than kiss him on the cheek? Unfortunately TeaBiscuit is in my program and my building so I see him all the time. And I keep hearing about his stupid stories from everyone in my building. You can only take so many "TeaBiscuit was so drunk last night" stories before you've heard them all. And frankly, I could care less what the boy does with his leisure time. Guys suck, but thankfully there's a great little system known as Karma. I'd watch out TeaBiscuit, Karma's looking for you so it can bite you in the ass. Always, Allie |
About me
"Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee."- Mohammed Ali |
Friends
Layout: tuesdaynight
|